Over-the-Sink Dish Racks: Measure These 4 Things First
An over-the-sink rack frees counter space only if it suits the sink, the tap and the wall around them. Frame racks stand on the counter on either side of the sink; roll-up racks and sink baskets rest on the rim. Either way, a few measurements decide whether the rack sits level, lets the tap move and drains where it should. This guide is a planning aid, not a compatibility guarantee.
Download the original checklist image
1. Sink span
For a rack that rests on the sink, measure the inside width of the bowl and how much flat rim there is on each side; a rounded or sloping rim gives less support. For a frame rack, measure the counter on each side of the sink where the legs will stand, and compare the space between them with the rack's adjustable length. Check whether the listed length includes end caps or handles.
2. Tap clearance
Measure the height of the tap and its handle at their highest point, and how far the spout swings. A frame rack's lower shelf or cross bar has to clear them, and a rack that rests on the rim must not stop the tap from swinging or a pull-out spray from reaching the bowl. If the listing gives only the overall height, look for the clearance under the lowest shelf or ask the seller.
3. Overhead space
Measure from the counter to the underside of wall cabinets, a shelf or the window sill and handle, and compare it with the rack's full height, including anything stacked on the top tier. Leave room to lift plates in and out. Check that the rack does not cover a window catch, a socket or a switch you still need to reach.
4. Drainage and load
Check that drips fall into the sink rather than onto the counter or down the back of the unit, and whether the rack has a drip tray. Find the load limit in the listing and stay within it, since wet pans and ceramic plates are heavy. A rack that rests on the rim should not slide when nudged; feet, pads or suction cups help, but only on a clean, flat surface.
Before you order
Keep your sink span, tap height and overhead measurements next to the product's adjustable length, full height, clearance under the lowest shelf and load limit. After setting it up, turn the tap fully, run water and check that the rack stays put and drips land in the sink. If a key dimension is not published, ask the seller or choose another rack.
Products to check against this list
The links below are affiliate links. If you buy through one, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Specifications are as listed by the seller on the date shown; we have not measured, tested or approved these products for your space.
- Adjustable-length over-the-sink dish rack, carbon steel. Seller-listed: Length adjusts 66-85 cm (26-33.5 in); 30 cm (11.8 in) deep; 55 or 59 cm (21.7 or 23.2 in) high; up to 15 kg (33 lb) static load; 4 suction cups. Clearance under the lowest shelf not stated. (checked 2026-09-26). View on AliExpress (affiliate link)
- Roll-up stainless steel sink drying rack. Seller-listed: Size options 38 x 29, 47.5 x 23 and 47.5 x 29 cm; rolls up for storage; 304 stainless steel and silicone (seller images). Load limit not stated. (checked 2026-09-26). View on AliExpress (affiliate link)
Your fit worksheet
Use centimetres or inches consistently. These cells are intentionally unfilled: we have not measured your space or approved a product for it.
| Check | Your space or equipment | Product requirement | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sink span | Record your measurement or observation | Confirm with the maker | Not checked |
| Tap clearance | Record your measurement or observation | Confirm with the maker | Not checked |
| Overhead space | Record your measurement or observation | Confirm with the maker | Not checked |
| Drainage and load | Record your measurement or observation | Confirm with the maker | Not checked |
Reference and evidence limits
Retailer example: IKEA SKOLÄST extendable sink container, US listing.
The linked retailer page and its public customer feedback supplied research leads, not independent performance evidence. Comments can reflect individual experiences. We have not independently reproduced them or verified compatibility, stock, price, load limits or current numerical specifications. Check the product page and instructions for your market before buying. Source reviewed on 2026-09-26.